You can upload new versions of a file so that you keep a constant audit log of historical changes.
When uploading a new version of a file, the new file will not have any comments attached to it since it is considered to be new. However, you can always view the file history by switching between the previously upload versions to see past remarks and the progression of that file.
If you made a mistake and uploaded the wrong file - you can always delete it as well.
To upload a new version of a file
You can upload a new version of a file from the project overview section or on the file view.
Upload a new version on the project overview
Click the up arrow icon on the right side of your file to upload a new version icon.
You can then upload one file on top of the original file. You can do this by selecting the file from your hard drive, Google Drive, or Dropbox.
Upload a new version in the file view
Open the version menu by clicking on the version number at the top of the sidebar.
In the version menu, you will find a button to upload a new version of this file. You can upload one file from your hard drive, Google Drive, or Dropbox.
Alternatively, you can upload a new version in the file view by dragging and dropping the file. To do this, drag the file over towards the comments section and it’ll upload that file as a new version.
Uploading a file when you have multiple review steps
If you have more than one review step and you are uploading a new version of a file, you will have to confirm which review step you want the new file to be added. By selecting the proper review step, you ensure that only the appropriate people will be notified and able to view the latest version.
It is important to note that only collaborators of a project will be able to see historic versions and comments in all steps. Reviewers will only be able to see version history in the review step that they are invited to see.
Do all Filestage plans include this feature?
Only teams on plans that were released after May 2019 are able to upload new versions from Google Drive and Dropbox. Older plans can upload only from their harddrive. To see if your plan includes this feature, please view: https://app.filestage.io/#!/billing/.
If your plan does not include this feature and you’re interested in it, you can update your plan or reach out to us at [email protected].
If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to reach us through the chat or email at [email protected].