All Collections
How-To Guides
Managing reviewers
Understand the difference between project collaborators and reviewers
Understand the difference between project collaborators and reviewers

Here you will learn the difference of project collaborators and reviewers.

Updated over a week ago

In this article:

When starting with Filestage, understanding the difference between Project Collaborators and Reviewers can be tricky! 

In a nutshell, reviewers can only access the files in their reviewer group and can review those files, while project collaborators can access all files in a project and manage those files. Reviewers do not need to log in to access the files, but team members will need to log in to access the project.


Reviewers

A reviewer is someone you invite to give feedback. This person can be a client, boss, co-worker, freelancer, or friend. 

  • Reviewers do not have to sign up to have access to your files

  • Reviewers can see only the reviewer group they were invited to. They do not have access to any other files in your project.

  • Reviewers can access all the files in a reviewer group either via email invitation or a review link

Reviewers can always:

  • view files in the reviewer group, they’re invited to see

  • share the review link with others

Depending on the permissions that you give your reviewers, they may also be able to:

  • comment on a file

  • attach files to their comments (logos, documents, sounds, or design drafts)

  • download a file

  • finish their review to request changes or approve a version

  • Upload files *only available certain plans.

A reviewer can never:

  • see files, comments, or versions in a different reviewer group

  • upload or delete a file

  • upload or delete a version

  • invite and remove team members

More information about the permissions of reviewers and how to set them can be found here.


Project Collaborators

A project collaborator has a personal Filestage account and an individual project overview. Project collaborators are able to create projects, upload files, and invite clients and co-workers to give feedback.

Project Collaborators can:

  • create new reviewer groups

  • invite reviewers to a reviewer group

  • invite team members to be a project collaborators

  • upload new files or versions

  • delete files or versions

  • comment on files in any reviewer group

  • download the files

  • see the complete version history of a file, including all past comments

To review a project as a project collaborator, a team member must be invited to that particular project. Projects are private by default; you must invite team members to the project so they can view it and all the reviewer groups, comments, versions, etc.


💡 What's next? Once you understand the difference, see how to Manage reviewer permissions.


Let us know if you have any questions by reaching out to us on chat or emailing us at support@filestage.io! We're always happy to help!


Did this answer your question?