All Collections
Commenting on files
Advanced commenting
Have private conversations with your team members in a file
Have private conversations with your team members in a file

Create internal comments that are only visible to your team

Peter Steidel avatar
Written by Peter Steidel
Updated over a week ago

Article overview:


The team-only comment feature lets you have private conversations with your team without them being visible to external reviewers. 


Use cases of team-only comments:

By using team-only comments, you can:

  • Give instructions - Now and then, your team needs more guidance on a reviewer's comment, or they need to know what steps to take next.

  • Discuss feedback - If a comment is not entirely clear or there are different opinions, your team can discuss it privately.

  • Collect information - Sometimes, you need to know more before responding directly to a reviewer's feedback. Now, you can have private conversations to gather information.

  • Translate - Language barriers between the stakeholders and the team can cause misconceptions; by using the internal commenting feature, you can help by translating feedback for your team.

  • Make handovers - let your content creators know that they can start implementing the changes.


Create team-only comments and replies

To start having private conversations, follow these steps:

  1. Go to the file view

  2. Click on the file to leave a comment or reply to an existing comment

  3. On the comment box, select Team only (the comment box will then turn yellow)

  4. Write your comment and click on the Save comment button


⚠️ Please note: You can only give team-only replies to a team-only comment.


See team-only comments

Project collaborators and members of your team with permission to see all projects will be able to see team-only comments regardless of their role in the project.

The team-only comment function works similarly to normal commenting. With team-only comments, you will still be able to attach files, reply to others, and mention other users. The main difference is that you can only mention teammates. You can't mention reviewers.

⚠️ Please note: Your team members need to be logged in to be able to see team-only comments. If they open a review link without being logged in, our system will not know that they are team members and won't show the team-only conversations.


How do I tell if my comment is a team-only comment?

To help you distinguish team-only comments from normal comments, the comment box will always be yellow for private conversations and also shows an eye icon in the top corner of the comment.


Which plans include team-only comments?

❌Free

❌Basic

✅Professional

✅Enterprise

If you are interested in this feature, you can switch to a new plan or contact us directly at support@filestage.io. We will be happy to help!


💡What´s next? after understanding how you can have private communications with your team, see how to Add or remove team members


Let us know if you have any questions by reaching out to us on chat or emailing us at support@filestage.io. We're always happy to help!

Did this answer your question?