When collaborating in Filestage, there are some people you definitely need feedback and approval from, like your boss or clients.

But on many projects, you also have external collaborators like freelancers and video producers. It can be helpful to let these people upload files directly to Filestage, but you probably won't need them to give approval on their own work.

With the request review decision feature, you can choose exactly who needs to submit a review decision, and who simply needs access to the project.

How to enable or disable review decisions

Click the invite reviewer button in your chosen review step. Then enter the email addresses of anyone you want to invite.

The "Request review decision" toggle will be enabled by default. So if you invite reviewers by sending them a review link, anyone who opens that link will automatically be asked for a review decision..

If you disable the "Request review decision" toggle, your reviewers will be able to share feedback like anyone else. But they won't:

  • See the "Request changes" and "Approve" buttons

  • Have a review status indicator

  • See the files in the review step in their "Awaiting my review" list

  • See the "Awaiting my review" badge on the project dashboard

  • Get due date reminder emails for the review step

Please note that “Request review decision” is enabled by default. This means that unless you turn it off when inviting a reviewer, they will be asked for a review decision.

How to change review decision settings after inviting a reviewer

To change the “Request review decision” settings for a reviewer, go to the project dashboard. Then click on the name of the reviewer and turn on/off the “Request review decision” feature.

Please note that this will only affect the reviewer for the review step in which the settings have been changed. If the reviewer is in multiple review steps, the settings need to be changed in all of them.

How to enable the “Request review decision” feature

“Request review decision” is enabled for all our plans, but only our latest Professional and Enterprise plans can disable it. To upgrade your subscription plan, please follow the steps listed in the Change your subscription plan article.

Let us know if you have any questions by reaching out to us on chat or emailing us at support@filestage.io. We're always happy to help!

Related Articles:

Did this answer your question?