---
title: "Understand the difference between project collaborators and reviewers"
description: "Here you will learn the difference of project collaborators and reviewers."
url: https://help.filestage.io/en/articles/1459674-understand-the-difference-between-project-collaborators-and-reviewers
collection: "Reviewer Management"
updated: 2026-07-14
language: en
alternates: [fr, de, es]
---

# Understand the difference between project collaborators and reviewers

Here you will learn the difference of project collaborators and reviewers.

_When starting with Filestage, understanding the difference between_ **_Project Collaborators and Reviewers_** _can be tricky!_ 

In a nutshell, **reviewers can only access the files in their reviewer group** and can review those files, while **project collaborators can access all files in a project** and manage those files. Reviewers do not need to log in to access the files, but team members will need to log in to access the project.

* * *

## Reviewers

A reviewer is someone you **invite to give feedback**. This person can be a client, boss, co-worker, freelancer, or friend. 

-   **Reviewers do not have to sign** up to have access to your files
    
-   **Reviewers can see only the reviewer group they were invited to.** They do not have access to any other files in your project.
    
-   **Reviewers can access all the files in a reviewer group** either [via email invitation or a review link](https://help.filestage.io/en/articles/9112521-how-to-share-content-with-reviewers-and-control-their-permissions.md). 
    

### Reviewers can always:

-   view files in the **reviewer group**, they’re invited to see
    
-   share the review link with others
    

### Depending on the permissions that you give your reviewers, they may also be able to:

-   comment on a file
    
-   attach files to their comments (logos, documents, sounds, or design drafts)
    
-   download a file
    
-   finish their review to request changes or approve a version
    
-   Upload files _\*only available certain plans._
    

### A reviewer can never:

-   see files, comments, or versions in a different **reviewer group**
    
-   upload or delete a file
    
-   upload or delete a version
    
-   invite and remove team members
    

> **Info:** More information about the permissions of reviewers and how to set them can be found [here](https://help.filestage.io/en/articles/2787865-manage-reviewer-permissions.md).

* * *

## Project Collaborators

A project collaborator has a personal Filestage account and an individual project overview. Project collaborators are able to create projects, upload files, and invite clients and co-workers to give feedback.

### Project Collaborators can:

-   create new **reviewer group**s
    
-   invite reviewers to a **reviewer group**
    
-   invite team members to be a project collaborators
    
-   upload new files or versions
    
-   delete files or versions
    
-   comment on files in any **reviewer group**
    
-   download the files
    
-   see the complete version history of a file, including all past comments
    

To review a project as a project collaborator, a team member must be invited to that particular project. Projects are private by default; you must invite team members to the project so they can view it and all the **reviewer group**s, comments, versions, etc.

* * *

💡 **What's next?** Once you understand the difference, see how to [Manage reviewer permissions](https://help.filestage.io/en/articles/2787865-manage-reviewer-permissions.md).

* * *

_Let us know if you have any questions by reaching out to us on chat or emailing us at_ [_support@filestage.io_](mailto:support@filestage.io)_! We're always happy to help!_

  
​
